Frequently Asked Questions


What message do you want to spread through this manifesto?
We want to show that we as students are concerned about the environmental and social disaster our societies are faced with. We want to show we are aware of the causes leading to this disaster: an economic system that doesn’t seem to understand natural resources are limited, and harmful individual behaviors characterized by over-consumption and waste. With this manifesto we want to share the contradiction in which we find ourselves, being aware of the situation, yet stuck in front of career prospects that often don’t seem to work towards any solution, no matter how vital that would be.
What are you hoping to achieve thanks to this manifesto?
We hope that signing this manifesto will encourage students to discuss environmental issues that are crucial to our future as a society, as well as to think of some solutions they can provide to these challenges. Since it’s difficult to commit to such things alone, we believe the collective momentum this manifesto aims at creating can give each of them the motivation and courage necessary to take into account these issues in their professional and personal lives.
Above all, if this manifesto alone won’t make everything change, it is part of a mobilization around environmental and social issues. And it shows that students participate in this mobilization. Some other examples of this broader movement: the call against environmental degradation signed by 15,000 scientists, the ever growing awareness regarding the status of biodiversity (“plan biodiversity” released by the French government in July, COP on biodiversity to happen in 2020), the French “PACTE” law redefining companies’ social role, the consultation on Europe until the end of 2018, the call for a “Finance-Climate Compact”.
Why don’t you offer solutions?
The question of offering very concrete actions was raised many times during the drafting process. A lot of proposals already exist. We could not have been exhaustive, and we are not the most legitimate to pick which of these proposals are the best ones. Scientists from all over the world wrote a text similar to ours in September 2017, and they displayed several potential approaches.
But the solutions sweep across all economic sectors and political topics: they depend on the context, on the sector concerned, on the scale envisaged, on the actors who will implement them. We don’t wish to defend specific solutions -rather the idea that a deep change in mindsets, both personal and collective, is necessary for these solutions to be spread at the right scale. The first step is a personal one: it’s about stopping to turn a blind eye to the problem, about staying informed as much as possible so as to then be able to think of how one may act, individually or on a professional or political level.
To avoid frustrating those who want to dig in or engage quickly, we chose to offer a list of ideas, information sources, and potential actions on a dedicated page to which the signatories are directed immediately after signing. Finally, as stated above, we also plan on writing out a questionnaire to identify the commitments already made, to give ideas to those who need them, and to encourage all signatories to deepen their involvement so that they immediately put into practice what they signed for.
Who wrote this manifesto?
The editorial team includes students from various French higher education schools: AgroParisTech, CentraleSupélec, Ecole Polytechnique, HEC Paris, and ENS Ulm. The text has also benefited from feedback provided by numerous students at dozens of differents institutions.
We are perfectly aware of not being representative of all students in France or around the world, and we don’t pretend to be. We are nevertheless convinced that many students can identify with the message conveyed in this manifesto, and that they can fully adopt the commitments implied.

Foire Aux Questions


Que voulez vous dire dans ce manifeste ?
Nous voulons montrer que les étudiants que nous sommes sont inquiets de la catastrophe environnementale et sociale vers laquelle nous courrons mais conscients toutefois des causes qui sont en train d’y mener, à savoir : un système économique qui n’intègre pas la finitude de la planète et des comportements individuels nuisibles au centre desquels se trouve la surconsommation et le gaspillage. Nous présentons dans ce manifeste la contradiction dans laquelle nous nous retrouvons alors, étant conscients de la situation mais enfermés dans des perspectives d’avenir professionnel qui ne semblent souvent pas aller dans le sens de la résolution du problème, pourtant vitale.
Qu’espérez vous obtenir avec ce manifeste ?
Nous souhaitons que la signature de ce manifeste conduise les étudiants à parler entre eux des enjeux environnementaux qui sont déterminants pour notre futur à tous et à réfléchir aux solutions qu’ils peuvent apporter à ces défis. Comme il est difficile de s’engager seul, nous pensons que l’élan collectif porté par le manifeste pourra apporter la motivation et le courage nécessaires à chacun pour prendre en compte ces enjeux dans sa vie professionnelle comme dans sa vie personnelle.
Surtout, si ce manifeste ne changera pas les choses à lui seul, il s’inscrit dans un mouvement de mobilisation autour des enjeux environnementaux et sociaux. Et il montre que les étudiants participent à ce grand mouvement. On peut citer de façon non exhaustive : l’appel des 15000 scientifiques contre la dégradation de l’environnement, la prise de conscience grandissante sur l’état de la biodiversité (plan biodiversité du gouvernement sorti en juillet, COP de la biodiversité en 2020), la loi PACTE redéfinissant le rôle sociétal de l’entreprise, la consultation sur l’Europe jusqu’à fin 2018, l’appel pour un Pacte Finance-Climat.
Pourquoi est-ce que vous ne proposez pas de solutions concrètes ?
Les scientifiques du monde entier qui ont écrit un texte du même genre que nous en septembre 2017 donnaient un certain nombre d’axes. De nombreuses propositions existent ; nous n’aurions pas pu être exhaustifs, et nous ne sommes pas les mieux placés pour choisir les meilleures d’entre elles.
Nous ne cherchons pas à défendre des solutions précises, mais l’idée qu’un changement profond d’état d’esprit au niveau personnel aussi bien que collectif est nécessaire. La première chose à faire se passe au niveau personnel : il s’agit de cesser de fermer les yeux, de se tenir informé au mieux pour ensuite réfléchir aux manières dont il est possible d’agir au niveau personnel, professionnel ou politique.
Pour éviter tout côté frustrant pour ceux qui veulent creuser les questions ou s’engager rapidement, nous proposons une liste de sources d’information et de pistes d'actions sur une page dédiée vers laquelle sont redirigés les signataires après leur signature, afin de donner des idées à ceux qui en ont besoin et leur donner envie de prendre de nouveaux engagements.
Qui a écrit ce manifeste ?
L’équipe de rédaction inclut des étudiants d'AgroParisTech, CentraleSupélec, l’Ecole Polytechnique, HEC Paris et de l’ENS Ulm. Le texte a également bénéficié de très nombreux retours d’étudiants de dizaines d’établissements différents.
Nous sommes parfaitement conscients de ne pas être représentatifs de l’ensemble des étudiants en France, et nous n’avons pas la prétention de l’être. Nous sommes en revanche convaincus que de nombreux étudiants peuvent se reconnaître dans ce manifeste et s’approprier pleinement les engagements qui y sont énoncés.